A tale of two rides

My friend and colleague @BenGLloyd will be riding for the next three days in the sunny – yes, sunny; 20-degrees plus – mountains of Spain. Not a dabbler like me, he’s taking his own bike for some punishing and well earned R&R. In the week of Black Monday, I’m convinced that he’ll ride in three days what I’ve ridden this month. Rispek.

My ride today couldn’t have been more different from his this afternoon. Dark. Minus two. Snow on the ground. 40 minutes. Perfunctory. And yet although so different in temperature, light levels, locale, hilliness and duration, I suspect in our own ways we do a similar thing at different levels for identical reasons. Cardiovascular health, mental clarity and a sense of perspective.

Very glad to be back in the saddle after a snow-enforced absence. Planning to go for the hat-trick – tomorrow before work and a longer ride on Saturday morning, before the Arctic conditions are replaced by a monsoon.

That said, I may also venture out for a first gentle run in a month, too.

Leave a comment