Happy Birthday to me

Well that has to be just about THE most freezing first 40 minutes I’ve spent on my birthday. Ever.

To be fair, I don’t think I’ve ever been out from 5.45 to 6.25 in the am on 16 January before, certainly not in leg-clinging meggings, pushing myself up and down 10K of hills just for fun (sanity, health and efficiency). Particularly a 16 January that wakes up to a hard, hard frost and is several degrees below.

But that’s what I did this morning, my third ride in a row, and my first following my sports physio yesterday at which I was declared “technically injury free”. Need to take things slowly and gently and work out the right shoes for the right gait and all that, not rush back into running – and certainly NOT in time for the Brighton half in a month and a day’s time. But it looks very much as if I listened to my feet in time this time and caught DOMS and incipient plantar fasciitis in time to prevent it going nuclear. Time will tell. But my first “gentle jog” of 20 minutes is likely to be next weekend, in ten days time. And then I plan to mix up running and biking to prevent the same pattern of overrunning and injury.

So that was a very welcome early birthday present to myself.

Leave a comment